About Me

I’m Karen and I am considerably over weight and significantly unhealthy. I have been trying to loose weight since late 2014 to begin with I did very well following slimming world and lost exactly 3 stone in just over a year. Then I lost motivation and started to get lazy and put some of that weight back on. I’m still lighter than I was when I started slimming world in 2014 but not even close to where I need to be. In total I need to loose nearly half my body weight. So now I am more focused and more determined to get this weight of. I work part time study from home and have 2 small children so I am always busy but not always work out busy as often I am either sat on the floor playing with the children, cooking our meals or sat at the computer doing my coursework.

 

A friend asked if I was interested in doing the Race for Life this year. At first I thought hell no that’s way more than I can manage but the more I thought about it the more I thought it was a good idea, not only can I do something positive for me but I can also do something positive in my beautiful Aunts name. You can read about my Aunt Sandra in my earlier post. Since she passed I have wanted to raise awareness of pancreatic cancer and get people more aware of this silent killers signs and symptoms. So on Thursday 24th March I signed up for the Bristol 5k Race for Life that takes place on 3rd July this gives me roughly 3 months to get fit and shed some of my excess pounds so I can do the race without having to crawl over the finishing line. I want to share my journey so others can see that with a little motivation it can be done, I also want a place to share facts and information about Pancreatic Cancer so with the help of a more technically minded friend “Steps for Sandra” is born. I will try to post at least once a week but I make no promises as I might be busy exercising, cooking healthy meals, getting my coursework done or playing with my children. I do promise to be very honest and share the highs and lows of this journey so please join me and share this with me.2016-02-26 19.57.57

This is a hard photo for me to post. I don’t usually have photos of me on my own (I usually hold one of the children in front of me to hide the worst of the fat) and I definitely don’t take side on images of myself in tight clothes that show all my lumps and bumps. But I promised honesty and that’s what your going to get. So this is me!

Leave a Reply

